Shameless Freedom

Now that the birthing process is over and baby announcements were distributed, I thought I had better explain how Shameless Freedom was conceived.

This fall it will be 13 years since I chose Jesus to be my Saviour and my life has never been the same. Now keep in mind that i lived 34 years before I made that decision and lived some life that wasn’t always upright. Among other things this included; sexual promiscuity, partying and divorce. It was at the point of being a single mother of 3 and desperate for life to be different that I discovered my need for Jesus.

I will be forever grateful for those who were obedient to showing God’s love to me and revealing Him through their actions. This list included my Mom’s incessant prayers for 7 years after she found Jesus, a friend who talked about God, friends who invited us to church, and the one who invited me to the women’s event that changed my life.

Now, did Jesus die on the cross to forgive my sins and give me eternal life? Absolutely. John 3:16 says, “For God so loved the world that he gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

Did my old sin nature die and now God sees me through my Jesus filter? Absolutely. Jesus died as us, Colossians 3:3 says, “For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God.” A divine exchange took place at the foot of the cross.

Are the broken parts of my soul/old man/ flesh gone? Never to arise again? Absolutely not. The second I take my eyes off of Jesus, my old behaviour can and does rise up again. Sanctification is a process, albeit a painful one sometimes. This is a daily process of death and rebirth. We become more like Jesus by putting Him on, not by peeling away the bad and getting to the good. This is a process of maturing that happens as we love one another, Ephesians 4:15 says, “Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will grow to become in every respect the mature body of him who is the head, that is, Christ.” Transformation then happens as our weaknesses become our strength.

Is my heart fully convinced of my position as a believer and all that Jesus has given me? Absolutely not yet. There are parts of me from old behaviour and teachings or lack of it that I still need Jesus to transform in me. It is written in my biography that I took the first two sections of Elijah House teachings. I love one of their sayings, “We evangelize the unbelieving parts of the believers heart.” I know I am in process, do I know that I have been redeemed and justified, washed clean as though I’d never sinned, Absolutely. I also know I am far from being like Jesus and this awareness of my sinfulness allows me to rest in the fact that He loves me too much to leave me this way. “Being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6

Yes I know, get to the conception story…Ok one last one – did I realize or think about the fact that Jesus not only died for my sin but for my shame until I took Elijah House? Absolutely not! 1 John 1:9, ” If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from ALL unrighteousness (emphasis mine).” Shame has been a binding factor in my maturation as a child of God. Guilt is – I have done something bad, Shame is – I am bad.I have worked from that perspective since I was a little girl.  My eyes have been opened to this truth and I truly feel this is an epidemic in our society. So many things are fueled by shame based behaviours and wanting approval. This will be healed as we learn to seek approval only from the One who created us.

So as I was given my mission statement a few years ago – To encourage and enlighten others in the freedom and forgiveness of Christ, it occurred to me in some of my healing, that it is not just freedom but shameless freedom! He died for it all!!! I will leave you with this promise from God’s word that gives me much hope for my future and I pray it does for yours as well. “Instead of your shame you will receive a double portion, and instead of disgrace you will rejoice in your inheritance. And so you will inherit a double portion in your land, and everlasting joy will be yours.” Isaiah 61:7

Leave a Reply

