Embracing the Teacher

I LOVE learning. I love learning about God, myself, and in general how people tick. We are a fascinating bunch that God has created. The world is never boring with all the mishmash of personalities, gifts and abilities God has lavished on us. I heard once that what stirs in your heart as a child is probably something you were meant to be. Every since I was a little girl, I wanted to be a teacher. It is a possibility had I not gotten cold feet that I would have been a school teacher for over 25 years already.I believe God had a different path in mind, even though I seem to have been doing hopscotch for a long time on it and not landing right in the square. I do believe this year is the revealing of my destiny and it will be evident that all I have done up until now has been the exact squares that God wanted me on. Oh I know sometimes I didn’t listen well or even know Him to hear but as I learned long ago, often the path we come around to is the one where we began and nothing has been wasted, even my backwards hops.

This path of thinking began as I searched for a teaching for my son and I looked through my boxes of journals and courses and bible studies and personality tests. There was a plethora of books, manuals and paper and my first thought was I should really get it together and decide what I want to be when I grow up. I didn’t like that thought so I went to the next one which I felt was God speaking to my spirit and He said you are what I made you to be, a teacher, one who has had to learn to do what I am calling you to do. In that one moment, the hole created by years of anguish over my lack of direction, was filled instead with reassurance and excitement.

I definitely don’t think this is a teacher in the common understanding of the word but what God has put in me to further His Kingdom, the way He wants me to be an ambassador of reconciling hearts to His. To help show people that the way is open to discover life and God, there is no obstacle in the way because Jesus took care of that. Lately I have been doing some studying on the 7 redemptive gifts of God. Romans 12:6-8 ” We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your[a] faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead,[b] do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.”

 I have been studying this concept according to Arthur Burk. He believes the 7 gifts are prophet, servant, teacher, exhorter, giver, ruler and mercy. He teaches that one of these is a defining template of our soul but in our spirit we are a blend of all seven gifts. He says our gifts are shaped by birth order, family dynamics and culture among other influences and that our gift is either muted or exaggerated by these things. Regardless of the influences, our original software stays in tact, it may just take some peeling to find and operate in it. As I have discovered my redemptive gift is teacher. I fought that truth for a while which is common for ones with that gift apparently ( I still have yet to discover why that is so, although I am thinking it has to do with the responsibility).  It makes a lot of sense though as I learn more about this part of my identity.

This is part of a description from a website about the gifts – ‘This temperament presents truth in a logical, systematic manner, enjoying word studies and reading. They are concerned that truth be established in every situation. They have strong convictions of facts, and can tend to neglect the practical applications.’ It was like that was part of my biography or they were in my head or something haha. My daughters have been known to say, if you want to know the truth about something, just ask Mom! And I think well yes! haha

As always, there are positive and negative aspects to most everything and so it is no different with redemptive gifts. One of the biggest areas of caution for me is to be careful not to let my love of knowledge and learning take the place of intimacy in my relationship with God. I remember Joyce Meyer saying, ‘We are educated way beyond our level of obedience.” I need to let the things I learn flow through me and not just store them up thinking it is a buffer for relationship with God. Our redemptive gifts are given to us so that we may glorify God, not for our own use. God gave me this verse at the beginning of the year when He showed me that my word for this year was to be present.  2 Timothy 2:15 ” Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.” This is my prayer as a teacher in whatever capacity He will have me be, that I will not misalign Him or His word.

What is your love danger? What can or does take the place of you having relationship with God? How can you turn that to show the majesty of God and seek Him instead?

The following websites are the ones that I  studied from for this blog. I encourage you to check them out and find out what your redemptive gift is for your place in this world to help reconcile hearts to God. Send your discoveries in a comment below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbhclJfW1_U&list=PL9CD6CF7C5BBF5F63&index=2

http://www.totalchange.org/Seven%20Redemptive%20Gifts.htm

http://storage.cloversites.com/crossroadscommunitychurch9/documents/Redemptive%20Gifts%20Outline%20(filled%20in).pdf

Leave a Reply

