Finding Delight

“I delight greatly in the Lord, my soul rejoices in my God. For He has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness. As a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.” Isaiah 61:10

As I am emerging from the fog of too many holiday treats and one too many late nights, I am overwhelmed with gratitude about all of the ‘moments’ that made up our time of celebrating the birth of Jesus with family and friends. One of the highlights was being able to spend 10 days with our daughter and grandson who turned 6 months while he was here. This was punctuated by having the whole family together for a late Christmas at the start of the New Year.

About 3 years ago, our family started a New Year tradition called OneWord. It was a movement through the church to choose a word at the beginning of the year that you felt would represent who you want to be or how you want to live. This was to replace resolutions which is probably a good thing as I just read a statistic that 92% of people do not complete their new years resolutions. OneWord allows you to focus in one place for the whole year and see how God will move in that. We also choose a bible verse that corresponds to the word God has chosen.

This year we all chose one personally and we sought God for a family word, one we could look toward together. Why do I share all of this with you? I encourage you to try it and I am already seeing fruit to why my word is delight.

Delight – as a verb means please (someone) greatly and as a noun means great pleasure or satisfaction

My heart for this word was as it says in the verse above from Isaiah, “I delight greatly in the Lord” I have a fresh hunger for more of God and less of me, to encounter Him and live less in worldly ways and more in His ways. A New Year brings fresh hope, excitement and new possibilities. I had a revelation that as I delighted in our grandson, our children, my husband and our family and friends that I was delighting in the Lord because they are all His creations. When I delight from this perspective it brings great pleasure and all of a sudden Psalm 37:4 came to life in a new way for me. “Delight yourselves in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” I realize again with delight from this angle He has given me the desires of my heart. It is a full circle thing as my desires are for healthy love, relationship, to walk in His will, to help others and to know Him better which happens through loving Him and the ones around me.

In the last couple of days God expanded my idea of why this word was chosen for me. As I shared it with my friend Lee, she said that is a perfect word for you because you are delightful. That one never occurred to me but I smile at how God speaks to us through others. On the same note, my friend Kari said God delights in you and maybe that is what He wants to show you. Of course! Why wouldn’t He want to show how His heart does that? Another favorite verse came to mind, “The Lord your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you;in his love he will no longer rebuke you,but will rejoice over you with singing.” Zephaniah 3:17

Louie Giglio said, “He chose you when you were dead in sin and couldn’t even present yourself to Him as a worthy choice. God chose you because He saw His own image in you, the divine stamp woven into the fabric of your being when He uniquely knitted your frame in secret. And He decided that you were worth a rescue mission of love that would require the death of His own Son.” Now, that is Delight.

My prayer is that 2016 will bring a greater understanding of this truth and His love to your hearts, so that you can move through all circumstances with this perspective and know Him better. May you find delight in surprising places!

Share your word and verse in the comments.

YouVersion – Passion: The Bright Light Of Glory, Louie Giglio

 

 

One thought on “Finding Delight

Leave a Reply

