Hopelessly Devoted

Romans 12:10 “Be devoted to one another in love. Honour one another above yourselves.”

My husband is fiercely loyal and it is one of the qualities I love the most about him. It is one of the ways he has loved the fear of abandonment and rejection to healing in me. It is one of the ways he has shown that even in serious trouble, it is not a time to give up. He has taught me how to persevere and do the hard things because of this quality. I always say, he doesn’t just read the word and forget what it says. He does it. So when God said for husbands to love their wife as Christ loves the church, my heart is evidence of that.

This morning in our devotional we read about a couple that has been married 50 years and when asked separately what their secret was to 50 years, they both responded, I never tried to change him/her. Wade said that would be so cool to be able to celebrate 50 years with you. rocking-chairs-1046184_640

C’mon, how much sweeter can you get. I was thinking, I don’t think I want to live that long. haha We are just 11 years in and I am 49!!! Ok it is actually plausible and please celebrate with us if it happens but therein lies a picture of our differences. And I celebrate them! We make a better whole because of them.

Loyalty is defined as the quality of being faithful to someone or something. It has been in the forefront of my mind for a variety of reasons and Psalm 119 is one of them.

It is a fascinating portion of scripture in that it is the longest psalm and chapter in the entire bible. The whole theme is the psalmist’s loyalty to the Word of God. The structure of the psalm made it easy to memorize in the Hebrew culture when they didn’t all have copies of scripture. This particular psalm is formed as an acrostic with 22 sections each corresponding to a different letter of the Hebrew alphabet, every verse beginning with the letter of its section. Amazing.

The Psalmist was referring to the Torah, which were the first 5 books of the Law/Old Testament and almost every verse of the 176 verses written have a synonym for the word Torah in it. How creative is that. His devotion was evident that he was fully convinced God’s word was life and those who kept it were rewarded by God.

Observe his delight and devotion.

Vs 1 – Blessed are they whose ways are blameless, who walk according to the law of the Lord.

Vs 9 – How can a young man keep his way pure? By living according to your word.

Vs 11 – I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

Vs 24 – Your statutes are my delight; they are my counselors.

Vs 36 – Turn my heart toward your statutes and not toward selfish gain.

Vs 45 – I will walk about in freedom, for I have sought out your precepts.

Vs 89 – Your word, O Lord, is eternal; it stands firm in the heavens.

Vs 92 – If your law had not been my delight, I would have perished in my affliction.

Vs 105 – Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.

Vs 125 – I am your servant, give me discernment that I may understand your statutes.

Vs 165 – Great peace have they who love your law, and nothing can make them stumble.

One of my favourite things about this psalm is how it ends in Vs 176, ‘I have strayed like a lost sheep. Seek your servant, for I have not forgotten your commands.’ After all of the devotion and desire to be loyal to God’s word, he concedes to his humanness. He confesses and turns back to God. Reminding us all that every good relationship needs to be intentional, seeking after the heart of God and the ones we love. We still may fall, but the grace of God picks us up. Love covers over a multitude of sins.

Let this be your prayer and protection with me for the days to come. Psalm 119:103,104 ‘How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! honey-dipper-924732_640 I gain understanding from your precepts; therefore I hate every wrong path.’

What can you do to become more loyal to God’s word today?

 

Leave a Reply

