Freedom Reigns

2 Corinthians 3:17 “Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”

There is no place else in this world of ours that we will receive the freedom from our guilt, shame and pain than in God and His forgiveness and healing. There was a time in my life that if I didn’t feel guilty about something I had done, I didn’t feel right. My foundation of being worthy was so skewed that I didn’t think I deserved to be good. So I started to perform for it. I was the ‘good’ girl and now as I write this I believe this may be the basis of why I never felt I belonged in my family or elsewhere. Until I knew God’s love, I didn’t feel true belonging. Because how can you belong if you are just pretending to be someone else.

Once I made a decision to accept Jesus in my life, which came after a lot of life and I was 34, the need to perform for love and acceptance did not just disappear. It has been a long, continuing process of trust and healing. I would say even up until this last year, the truth of God’s love for me had not penetrated to the core. I had no idea how to receive this gift from Him but he has been wooing me with His love. And as the verse above says, where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. He has granted me freedom to not live in guilt and shame of the things I have done, or not done. I cannot explain in words the kind of freedom that comes when we come to our Father in heaven and confess our sins, for he is faithful and just and forgives our sins. Then the forgiveness is complete, it is washed away. He sees us through the veil of Jesus, which is pure and clean and holy. veil-645705_640

This reminds me of the veil that Moses placed over his face after He had been with the Lord. Moses had just come down from Mount Sinai with the 10 commandments the Lord had spoken to him and his face was radiant with the presence of God. Can you just imagine? Exodus 34:29 “When Moses came down from Mount Sinai with the two tablets of the covenant law in his hands, he was not aware that his face was radiant because he had spoken with the Lord.”

I imagine his whole being was radiant from that encounter of 40 days and nights with God. How would he even notice his face? This frightened the people but Moses called them to himself and relayed what God had said. vs33,34 “When Moses finished speaking to them, he put a veil over his face. But whenever he entered the Lord’s presence to speak with him, he removed the veil until he came out.”

I find it fascinating that when Moses spoke to the people, He remained unveiled as if to enhance the divinity of the message to them. He also left if off to meet with God as though to allow His power to be absorbed in him. The only time that Moses wore the veil to cover God’s glory was when he was among the people. Some commentaries suggest that this spoke of when Moses was silent with the people and signified the darkness of their hearts. Holiness is given privacy.

2 Corinthians 3:16 says, “But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.”

This is what I have experienced, when I turned to Him my understanding was made clear and His radiance shone into my heart. Once we know the freedom that comes from choosing Him, we are different. He has the space to make Himself known, to change us and bring reconciliation.

Have you turned your heart toward the Lord? Do you desire to be free from the guilt and shame that consumes you? Jesus died for these very things. Allow the veil to fall and turn to Him.

“And we all, who with unveiled faces reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” vs 18

 

Leave a Reply

