Foolishness Redefined

“But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.” 1 Corinthians 1:27

Christ’s work on the cross for the sake of reconciling our hearts to God seems foolish to those who don’t believe. We try to intellectualize everything we hear or see but as Paul also said, “For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength.” 1 Corinthians 1:25

I heard Kari Jobe say in an interview recently that her inspiration for her new song ‘The Cause Of Christ’ was that she wants Jesus more than she wants to understand. To the world this is foolishness, an upside down view of life. We want to know the why behind everything that happens to us. I find even more so in this age that we think we deserve to know the why. Perhaps this stems from our ability to obtain knowledge at our fingertips. It also ties into our desire to be so independent which I believe is the undercurrent of the epidemic of shame in our society.

In my life, the shame often manifested as false pride. Don’t worry about me, I can do it, I can do it because if I don’t do it then I feel less than and then people will think I am not capable and then they will talk about me and then I am not worthy and then I might as well not even try. In all of this the lies I believed would be affirmed in this habitual pattern of thinking.

Jesus interrupted this pattern of thinking. I chose Him and thus began the journey of process to heal my shame. I realized I really was weak without Him, that we all are. In this way, He uses the weak to shame the strong. My strong was a false persona to protect my heart. My strong was built on faulty foundations. When I first heard of the notion that Jesus loved me and died for me and my sins and to give me eternal life. That was foolishness to me. I didn’t understand it. But God’s foolishness is wiser than any man’s wisdom.

I saw the long-term fruit of choosing to believe what I initially thought to be foolishness 15 years ago. Tonight we were at an event for the bible camp my son has attended for the last 5 years. This summer he was in the Leader in Training program. He was asked to share about his experience. “Being a LIT does require a servant heart. You’re constantly doing chores and just working around the camp. Some people may think that is a bad thing but I think that is one thing that teaches me the most, like having to humble yourself before others…Just being able to share your story and tell the campers what God is doing in your life, you hope that will make an impact but you know God has a plan for that.”

That was part of his story he shared and in this world that may be seen as foolishness. A 15-year-old young man standing for his God, serving and knowing that is God’s heart for him, hoping that made an impact on others.  This kind of ‘foolishness and weakness’ is what is shaming the wise and the strong. People in the world may see a teenage boy saying dumb things about this God. God sees him and says well done, good and faithful servant. I see the fruit of redemption in who my son is today. Because I chose Jesus and allowed Him to change my life, the life of my children has been impacted as well in their choice for Him. I pray it continues so for all the generations to come.

What have you heard that seems foolish to you? The speaker at the event said, “There is no limit on Christ’s blood.” What kind of limit are you placing on our God?

Isaiah 55:8,9 “For your thoughts are not my thoughts, neither are your ways my ways. declares the Lord. As the heavens are higher than the earth so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

sunrise-165094_640

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

