Embracing Space

plait-1348903_640“Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you. With whom will you compare me or count me equal? To whom will you liken me that we may be compared?” Isaiah 46:4,5

The prophet Isaiah penned these words near the end of his life and so this promise of God being with him even to the old age and gray hairs was very relevant. Isaiah was teaching the nation of Israel as they had a tendency to waver between the one true God and pagan gods. He is reminding them that there is no comparison. As God spoke in verse 9, “Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other. I am God, and there is none like me.”

I know of so many people, women in particular, that feel like they don’t have a right to take up space in this world. They often apologize about being a burden, not embracing their true value. I realized as I met with one of my dear friends today, there is not much that fuels my passion for Jesus more than when I see women believing the lies of the enemy that they aren’t worthy. I see them consumed by guilt and shame and agreeing with the enemy’s voice. They are caught in cycles of comparison with others that aren’t even in the same arena of life. Their insecurities are like a starving wound that is devouring any false confirmation to the lies that have been planted in their souls.

The reason my heart gets more fired up for Jesus is because I know He is the only answer. He can bring healing to all areas of our heart so much so that there is no evidence left of what created the hurt. I know and have lived a multitude of reasons that we can become full of shame and feeling unworthy. There are times that life overwhelms us with the difficulty of living in this sin filled world.

False guilt is the fuel of shame. Comparison is the thief of joy. It is the enemy of contentment. It eats away at your ability to be confident. I heard it said recently that comparison fosters competition more than community. In this it creates unrealistic expectations that stimulates wrong thinking. Comparison isolates us, drawing us even further from the truth that we are enough with God.

This makes me want to throat punch the devil for how he undermines our value and worth. He started it in the garden, right from the get go, planting a tiny seed that we aren’t enough. “You will not surely die,” the serpent said to the woman. “For God knows that when you eat of it, your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God knowing good and evil. Genesis 3:4,5

The enemy is adept at just throwing in a tiny twist on the truth that will get us spinning or trying to make it happen on our own. I can just hear that slimy little snake comparing them to God when they weren’t Him. We may have the right desire to become more like God but when we take it into our own hands, like Eve did, we become our own god. Our independence becomes a hindrance to intimate relationship with our true God.

Who are you comparing yourself to? The one and only lasting thing that will set us free from the lies we have believed is God’s truth. And His truth says “I am he that will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.”

Set these promises deep in your spirit. Dig deep into discovering the lies that you have or are believing. Find His truth and speak it until you believe it. You don’t need to continue to allow those things to spin around and defeat you. Get in your lane, the one created just for you, you are unique and meant for the space and influence that God has given you. Find help.Take up your sword and fight the lies for it. It belongs to you, it was formed with you in mind. Seek a community of like-minded people who will encourage and build you up. We need to link arms to stand against the enemy and his schemes. It is time for us to take our places and put him under our feet where he belongs. Don’t let him take any more casualties. No more identity theft. No more lies. Our identity is in Jesus. He established the space. Embrace it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

