Fully Convinced

Often we need to hear things repeatedly to believe them to be true. God knows the right convincing point, the exact voice needed to speak it to bring the point home. His timing is always perfect. 

I have experienced this as a parent. You teach and guide and reiterate some things  numerous times. Then they come home and say listen to what so and so told me…and they are so excited about this ‘new’ idea. I bite my tongue (well most times) from saying do you know how many times I have told you that? 😳

Recently I was reminded that I am not exempt from this dilemma. I may have told the story about Grace from London, England. God sent her to me at the Joyce Meyer conference in St. Louis. Well actually between our metro and bus transfer. In our first 5 minutes of meeting she asked why I hadn’t written my book yet. Hammer the nail right off the bat. We continued to have some conversations that were convicting, confirming and encouraging about writing. 

Funny enough, prior to that trip I had been asking God to fully convince me this is what I was to be doing. As I was relaying this story to a friend she said well what was wrong with all of us telling you that?  This made me laugh and reflect about the truth of that statement. I realized that all the people in the world could tell me something but if it wasn’t the right timing or I wasn’t fully convinced of the truth myself, my heart wouldn’t receive the idea. 

You can’t coax my heart to believe, God has to do it and sometimes He uses many voices to do that. There were many layers to get through to be convinced of that particular truth. Like healing from feeling unworthy, being able to trust God called this out in me and has created me to do this. Then the layers of teaching me discipline, don’t even get me started on that. You get the idea. 

It is why the story of Abraham being fully persuaded of God’s abilities and not his own have been something I love. In Romans, Paul is telling about how old Abraham and Sarah were when they were promised a son to carry on the generations. And yet against all hope Abraham believed. 

Romans 4:20,21,’Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what He had promised.’ 

I want to walk in that kind of faith, unwavering, trusting, believing. So that no matter what, I can walk my faith out. Even if the circumstances do not line up with what we know to be true. We can in faith call things that are not as though they were. 

So listen to the voices around you but test them with Gods word because He has the final say. There are times when immediately you will believe but sometimes we need to be fully convinced through process. 

What have you been hearing a lot lately? Here is a good test to see if it’s from God. “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4:8‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Anything contrary to God would not fit in these categories so be sure before you believe. Be open to speaking things to others as well, you may just be the convincing voice God uses. 

Leave a Reply

