Shameless Trust

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭3:5-6‬ ‭NIV‬‬

I feel like if I could truly submit to these verses in all areas of my life, the rest would fall into place. I know I have taught on these verses before but there is so much truth and meat in them. At least for me as I tend to lead with my head and not my heart. Overthinking is a heart killer. It hinders our relationship with God and others.

 Now hear me, I am not saying don’t use your brain because God gifted us with that for sure. I am saying don’t live there. I am saying we can’t possibly figure everything out on our own, nor should we try because then why would we need relationships? Or God. 

Why trust in our limited understanding when we can trust in the unlimited knowledge of God. We aren’t setting aside our intellect by trusting God but leaning on Him, the wisest thing we can do. 

Beth Moore once asked the question, ‘Is there somewhere along the way you set aside your heart and decided to make it an intellectual journey?’ This question arrested my heart and caused me to search for that answer. 

I think often in our journey of life we learn ways to protect our hearts when they experience too much pain. In the process these ‘protection modes’ numb our hearts and ignite our thoughts causing us to make those decisions not to feel. 

What if I told you there was another way to do things? What if trusting God as your source could apprehend your overthinking

These verses in Proverbs give us license to not go into protection mode. If we can switch the trigger point when we shut down our hearts and turn to the Lord instead, we can choose to trust Him instead of our own anxiety. We absolutely can acknowledge that our circumstances are difficult but as Jason Vallotton said, ‘If God is our source, once we acknowledge our difficulty, we can then go to God and access the grace needed for the season that we are in.’ 

Solomon, the wisest man to have lived, wrote the book of Proverbs. He learned the best way to live was to acknowledge and trust God with all of his ways. Note, he said ALL, not some or just the parts you choose, but all. I want to go with the wise guy in this case and let God set my paths straight. 

I know this isn’t easy, especially for us head cases, but it is possible with God. It takes retraining and as the apostle Paul said ‘to take every thought captive’ (2 Corinthians 10:5) and ‘renew our minds'(Romans 12:2) It is choosing to be deliberate. It is asking God to help us where we are helpless. It is challenging our complacency in the areas of thinking that we just think any thought dropped in our brain is the ‘gospel’ truth. It is trusting the process. It is submitting to God’s perfect will. 

What do you need to do differently in the area of your thinking today? Ask Him to show you and trust. 

Leave a Reply

