Homeward Bound

“For this world is not our permanent home; we are looking forward to a home yet to come.”

‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭13:14‬ ‭NLT

Today we are traveling home from Saskatoon to Regina and ironically it marks the 6 year anniversary that we moved today. It ended up being one of the more difficult things that I have ever done.  God has been so faithful though. I had lived in Saskatoon for 25 years with a huge community of people. Other than my in-laws, I had no connections in Regina. Our son was in grade 4 and our two girls were already finished school. So it was just my husband, myself and him and Owen adjusted the best. There may be something to the adage ‘you can’t teach an old dog new tricks?’ Or at least it takes old dogs longer to settle. 

God was faithful in teaching me during that transition about leaning on Him. For a good 6 months that is all I knew to be true. I knew to make this move took trusting Him with all I thought I had but then adjusting took even more. 

And in it all I was reminded as the verse says above that wherever we are on earth is not really our home. Knowing Jesus, promises me that I will have an eternal home. But my forever home is not here and that is exciting news. 

Recently someone asked me if Regina felt like home more than Saskatoon. I realized that it did but it was more because of the people than the place. (I still like the city of Saskatoon better) Although my heart still aches for my children and close friends, God has multiplied our connections here to be deep and life-giving. 

The reason we were in Saskatoon this weekend was to attend a 50th anniversary celebration. Wade and I joked that we were celebrating something they had accomplished and it was longer than we had been alive! What an incredible testimony it was to watch how God had been faithful throughout their marriage and that they gave Him all the honour and glory. We were able to connect with two other couples who had been dear friends and who all were instrumental in my baby stages of knowing Jesus. 

As we caught up and heard stories of triumph and hardship, it was also a good reminder that our bodies will not be eternal either. 

“For we know that when this earthly tent we live in is taken down (that is, when we die and leave this earthly body), we will have a house in heaven, an eternal body made for us by God himself and not by human hands. We grow weary in our present bodies, and we long to put on our heavenly bodies like new clothing. For we will put on heavenly bodies; we will not be spirits without bodies. While we live in these earthly bodies, we groan and sigh, but it’s not that we want to die and get rid of these bodies that clothe us. Rather, we want to put on our new bodies so that these dying bodies will be swallowed up by life. God himself has prepared us for this, and as a guarantee he has given us his Holy Spirit. So we are always confident, even though we know that as long as we live in these bodies we are not at home with the Lord.

Yes, we are fully confident, and we would rather be away from these earthly bodies, for then we will be at home with the Lord. So whether we are here in this body or away from this body, our goal is to please him. For we must all stand before Christ to be judged. We will each receive whatever we deserve for the good or evil we have done in this earthly body.”

2 Corinthians‬ ‭5:1-6, 8-10‬ ‭NLT‬‬

When we first moved, I would never have imagined the incredible community God would give us here. And the opportunities to serve Him in ways beyond our imagination. So what am I trying to say? 

His ways are best and it was a good reminder as I pondered all of this to trust Him wherever we were at and in whatever stage of life. His plans are good. We aren’t here forever and He has created us to make an impact wherever we are and whatever He calls us to do. Our major assignment on this earth is to Love God and love people and that is not limited to a geographical location. So no matter where you are and what state your body is in, God is not limited to time and space and He has great rewards for those who know Him. 

I can only imagine. 

Leave a Reply

