Disciplined Busyness

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matthew 6:33

“No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” Hebrews 12:11

What exactly are we trying to accomplish? Is anything really getting done? Who are we trying to keep up with? How does anyone find God’s peace if life is a rat race? How do we give God’s best when we are exhausted? How can we hear Him if busy is our common response to, how are you? How do we come up for air?  Am I?

These thoughts came pouring out of me as I observed people when I was out getting some groceries. People ran around pushing carts in a flurry, yelling at children, running into people instead of breathing a second and letting them pass, throwing things in the cart like they could never shop again. And sighing heavily when the lines were long. I wonder if it occurs to people that they are a part of the line too? I got these pictures of hamsters in a wheel, endlessly spinning, creating the same result.

Now don’t get me wrong, sometimes this is me and I don’t speak these things to just judge or condemn others. I am questioning my own habits and life. I awoke this morning thinking about discipline and how when I am undisciplined, it brings such damaging consequences. Busyness is sometimes a precursor to this lack of discipline. When we don’t seek God to fill us first, we find everything else to try to whet the appetite of our empty souls.

If I fall into the day headfirst without seeking God and choose to get right onto my device instead of on my knees before Him, I can use information as a substitute for Jesus. Jim Richards says, “In order for me to want Kingdom life, I’ve got to want it more than I want anything else. So I need to do whatever it takes for me to connect with Him everyday.”

I think busyness becomes a symptom of our emptiness. We live in an age of information. We don’t have to go any further to find most answers than by a search on our phone, right at our fingertips. There is always that one next thing to go to, one more thing to read, one more thing to watch and unless we are careful and disciplined in our choices, we will get on that wheel, spinning, trying endlessly to fill ourselves. Yet when we take time before our day starts to seek Him and ask for His perspective and be available for the things He wants for us in that day, the rest of the day will be more ordered.

I understand that there are times when we will be busy or extra things get added to our plate. If we have sought after God, we are better able to discern what are God things and what are just good things. I believe the enemy is king at distraction and in this day and age, it does not take much to pull us away from the things that are important. Is seeking God a discipline you want to add into your life? The bible has much to say about the wisdom of discipline or how foolish we are when we don’t practice it.

Proverbs 5:23,”For lack of discipline they will die, led astray by their own great folly.”

Proverbs 10:17, “Whoever heeds discipline shows the way to life, but whoever ignores connection leads others astray.”

Proverbs 12:1, “Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge, but whoever hates correction is stupid.” (tell it like it is Solomon!)

Proverbs 19:20,”Listen to advice and accept discipline, and at the end you will be counted among the wise.”

This is just a sampling, I encourage you to study the word discipline and see what God has to say to you.  Reading this blog can shine a light into God’s truth but it doesn’t substitute for an encounter with your heavenly Father. It can teach you and perhaps change your perspective but it cannot change your heart, only God’s word and having an intimate relationship with Him can. Dig into it today and seek His heart. He is waiting.

author

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

