Truth Seeking

“I love those who love me and those who seek me find me.” Proverbs 8:17

One of my very favourite things to do that God has given me much opportunity for lately is sitting with young women and being able to encourage them in their walk with God and life. Some might say mentoring, I say listening. Some might say it is the stage in my life where I have a great desire to bring wisdom to them from what I have learned, I say maybe it is because I miss my daughters and being able to speak things into their lives face-to-face. Regardless, it is where God has me and I love it. It is not only listening to them but learning. God is raising up such incredible young people in this time. I am continually fascinated by how they think and the dreams God has instilled in their hearts and their desire for truth. This generation seeks authenticity. They inspire me more than they will ever know.

Recently one young lovely woman and I were talking about the One Word concept that I spoke of in my last blog. She had written me a note after reading my blog telling me how she had been inspired to try this and was so excited to share how God had so obviously confirmed it for her over and over. I am excited to watch it continue to play out in her life. We talked about guilt and shame and she wisely said that New Years resolutions are fueled by guilt and that is probably the reason they fail. In doing the One Word it brings simplicity and focus to what God has for us instead of 20 different new things to try. It is attained by seeking God and not out of guilt. The enemy doesn’t have to look far at the beginning of each year to try and get people discouraged. If guilt was their motivation for starting something, that doesn’t give much fuel to follow through on a resolution.

In fact there is a date people have been throwing around which is deemed ‘Blue Monday’, usually the third Monday in January depending on what you read. It is reportedly the most depressing day of the year. Do you know how this began? It was a calculation by a travel company to try and determine when their traffic would increase. The concept has only been around for 12 years but thanks for social media, it is like it is written in stone. The variables used in the formula included things such as weather conditions, debt level, time since Christmas and lo and behold time since failing New Year’s resolutions.

Are these factors somewhat valid for feeling a little blue at this time of year? Perhaps. Is it a little more difficult, especially in the northern hemisphere where this term is aimed at, to stay upbeat in the longer nights and freezing cold days? Yes. Do we dream of warm faraway vacations to break the monotony, I know I do. But it seems when there is an expectation of something we go toward that. As Pastor Craig Groeschel said,”Our lives move in the direction of our strongest thoughts.”

What if we renamed it Celebration Monday? See where your thoughts go between thinking of Celebration or Blue? God has been showing me that just because the world says things are a certain way, it does not mean it is gospel truth. This same young woman I mentioned above rebels against the status quo. I say rebel, not with a negative connotation but one that inspires others to dig deeper and not take so many things at face value. Our society has created an instant gratification mentality and that means wanting answers now and fast. In this, we miss the deeper things. We also miss the truth sometimes.

Pastor Craig preached about how often people reject God but it is not the true God, it is a distorted view of Him. I think our culture is so inundated with information that it is prime territory for the enemy to come in and just twist things ever so slightly to become something of discouragement rather than encouragment. Instant gratification creates a thirst that drives us to take endless sips of information cocktails. In that we have become drunk on  half-truths, lies and deceptions. We believe them for truth when they have just enough truth to entice us.

Pause.

The next time you hear or read something, pause and ask questions, read what Scripture says about the idea you have encountered. Bookmark it if you don’t have time right at the moment. If it’s truth God wants you to hear, you don’t need to rush through it. We also do not need to swallow every cocktail we are given. I hope you do that with my words. They are just mine, I pray and seek God and ask what to write but I may not always get it right.

1 John 4:1 “Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world.”

Ephesians 6:16, “In addition to all of this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.”

John 8:32, “Then you will know the truth and the truth will set you free.”

1 John 2:21, “I do not write to you because you do not know the truth, but because you do know it and because no lie comes from the truth.”

1 Corinthians 13:6, “Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.”

Galatians 5:7, “You were running a good race. Who cut in on you to keep you from obeying the truth?”

Where are you drinking from? Are your thoughts and information based on truth? There is only one place that will truly fulfill your thirst and He is the Truth and He will set you free. His love story for you is written in the Bible. Ask Him to show you His truth and seek it until you find Him. He promises you will.

Jeremiah 29:13, “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

seek

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

