Overwhelming Love

““Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, and you were not willing.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭23:37‬ ‭

As I wandered in a small town where my child lives, everytime I came to a grove of trees right smack in the middle of town, I wanted to weep. I was overcome by emotion as I stepped into the wilderness amidst civilization. 

I realized it had been a long time since my mind and spirit had been quiet. Be still and know that I am God! I gulped in Holy Spirit peace and quiet and tranquility and it overflowed in my spirit as tears. 

I came with the intention to bless my children and yet I knew God had something special in mind besides them. Although they are enough, all of my children, it is my great pleasure to love and to serve them. Amazing gifts with no words to describe who they are to my heart, soul and spirit.

I sat breathing in pneuma, breath of God, and was desperate for the refreshing to go forth. I hear God whisper in my spirit, you are my child. As a hen gathers her chicks under its wings, so I long to gather you! 

I think of Jesus saying this over his city Jerusalem and feel the burden of his heart as He knows what they need, yet they do not seek after the One who created them. I imagine His frustration of watching His people missing the mark. I hear His nurturing heart as He longs to gather them! 

To be honest, this empathy over Jesus’ heart comes easily these days as for weeks I have been weeping. The seemingly silliest thing not only makes me well up but have big crocodile tears spill over uncontrollably, wondering if I am losing my ever loving mind. 

Today on Mother’s Day, I allow them to spill freely. I am weeping for the daily sacrifice of being a mother and all that encompasses. I am weeping for all of the mothers that have loved with all they have, yet their children are lost or addicted or hurting or absent. I am weeping for all of those single Moms that may struggle each day wondering if they are enough or if they will have enough. I weep for those that have experienced what I imagine as the greatest loss, one of a child. I weep for those who have lost babies before they knew them. I weep for those who have longed for their own child to love. I weep for those who have lost their own Mamas. 

In the same breath I celebrate these women who have been created in the same image of God, fearfully and wonderfully and uniquely made. Full of nurturing and compassion and love. I celebrate the gift of them for the others around them. I celebrate that the God of hope is gathering them under His wings. And I pray, that they will not forsake Him and His offer and His hope through His mercy and forgiveness and sacrifice. His promise of comfort is great , “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.” ‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭1:3-4‬ ‭

As Big Daddy Weave says in Overwhelmed, may we delight ourselves in Him and the glory of His presence , captivated by His beauty and run into His arms unashamed because of mercy. 

My hope is that all of the women in any of the scenarios I have mentioned be overwhelmed by His goodness and love and be able to live from that place. I am thankful for the gifts of all of you. 

My heart is especially for my Tessa who is almost 2 years in to being an amazing, loving, wonderful Mama and my Keshia who is almost 2 months away to being an amazing, loving wonderful Mama and whose heart hurts today for the little one she lost.  For their gift of being able to grandparent is beyond words after the gift of loving them. And of course my Mama, who passed on her gifts of love and selflessness and pouring in to others before she went to be with Jesus, I was blessed in her and learned to love well because of her and Jesus. 

I truly am Overwhelmed by the gift of love and Jesus today! Go out and be His love today whatever your story. Happy Mothers Day! 

Leave a Reply

